I have been going through my inventory a lot lately, in the little time I’ve been in SL between relative visits, summer travel and my ever returning migraines, trying to weed out the old and ugly to get ready for the new mesh items. Since my blog focuses on inventory treasures, old and new, I thought I would show you something I rediscovered, an old favourite of mine, that you might have in your inventory and not remember, even though it’s no longer for sale.

This fun and sexy pant suit is called Downtown, and was designed by Lestat Reuvan before she changed her shop name to Siss Boom. I went through her shop the other day and I don’t see it there, the shop is a little like a Victorian house so it has a lot of small rooms, that connect in different ways, so in a shop like that it’s easy to get turned around, I know I ended up looking at the same room more then once a lot,  so it’s equally possible I missed one. I’m fairly sure this outfit is no longer for sale, but she has a ton of newer and very arguably better outfits for sale so it’s well worth a trip if you haven’t been.  I can think of probably a dozen or so of her outfits in  my inventory that are probably technically better crafted then this, Lestat has a great gift for learning with each outfit, but what can I say, I’m feeling monochrome, and I love it!

Siss Boom puts all her outfits out at 100L until a new outfit comes out and then they go up to the regular price, so it pays to keep a close eye on the shop. They can change daily or once a month..you never know.

The pretty flower necklace is Baby Monkey’s Enamel Flower Set – Black. It comes with a necklace (chest and spine versions), earrings and 2 rings. You change the metal on the set to silver, gold or matte black using the hud that comes with it. You get all this for the bargain basement price of 55L.  This was offered for sale a couple of weeks ago as a Taste of SL item in their Color Black promotion.  I love this set because of the simple clean lines, nice texturing and the way it matches so much of what I own.

When I was in the Baby Monkey store today getting the slurl to the black set, I saw the other set this necklace comes in, the Enamel Flower Set. This is a texture change set with necklace (chest and spine versions, earrings and 2 rings, but there is a difference. This hud on it not only lets you choose the metal colours, it lets you choose 14 petal textures and 14 center textures. That adds up to a wild array of possible colour combinations. The price? Just 125L. A steal.  Just to tempt you some more I made the above photos to show you some of the colours I did…I love the colours available. Not to dark, not too light, just right! Black isn’t one of the colours available in this set so I’m glad she made the black version for The Best Of SL sale.

Bonus I accidentally discovered! The hud for the multicoloured set will change the center on the black set. So if you buy both, your black set becomes more flexible.  You can’t knock that! Right now I’m running around with a black flower with a red center.

Prim Eyelashes!!!!!!!!

I have had trouble with lashes forever in SL. My face seemed to tilt from nose to ears in more of an angle then most people. No matter how I rotated lashes, and I bought dozens and dozens of them, the problem was always the same, one side or the other would not fit against the skin, either the side closest to the nose or the side closest to the outer corner. One of the would be sticking out.  I read every article I could find on lash fitting, watched every video, but could never find a fix for that. I basically settled for it looked “Ok” and then edited them to look as perfect as I could get for every shot when taking photos.

That is a thing of the past now because Lashae , my friend of does the fantastic blog called Lashae Karsin, recommended that I go get the LeLukta prim lashes, and I did. Boy is she right, these are great! The lashes are little tiny prim lashes instead of a couple of alpha layers. The lashes are grouped together 3 to 5 in a group, and when you choose to edit them individually, you can move these little groups around your eyes, and make a near perfect fit. The lashes are also scripted to tint to 5 colours other then the default black – White, Purple, Blue, Green and Brown.

They are copiable, so I can make a set for my Asian shape. Unfortunately they aren’t modifiable , probably because of the script, so I can’t rename them to the shape they are made for. Pity. Note to Linden, make a separate permission for rename, just to make our lives easier.  I got the curl lashes and they sell for 180L. There are two other prim choices on the top shelf beside them. Don’t buy from the shelf below like I did. I didn’t notice they were a lower price and thought they were prim too, as there is nothing saying they are alpha, and ended up with eyelashes I will never probably use.

The hair I’m  wearing is Glory by Exile, one of their hairs that has both streak options and root colour options. That is a lot of options for a 250L pack of hair. I especially like the naturals option that gives you 5 shades in different colour families. For those of us that can’t decide if we are going to be brunettes, redheads, blondes or even go white with fright! Sometimes all in one day. I’m wearing the Frost version from the Natural’s pack with Ebony texture added.

This pretty skin is from Ikki Kanto, the designer behind Nekojita Designs and is called Passion Skin. I love her make up style. She has all kinds of bold make ups, with beautiful colours, not too heavy on the cheek shading, but intense lip colour and great shadows. Not all her make up’s have shadow’s she likes to mix it up, just like we do in real life, so some are like this one, a great lipstick and a plain lid, which looks great with an outfit like this, or would look great with a tattoo shadow of your choice.

She has 4 walls full of great skins, Caucasian and Asian, 90% that I’m drooling to own. She also has some great bargains and sales out all the time. Today I picked up a shape, great skin and eye set for just 15L for the whole thing. You’ll be seeing it soon, I’m sure.  The only thing she is missing is demos, but I hope she will get them soon.  I’ve liked every skin I have gotten from her though, so try one of her bargains to be sure before you buy one of the full price skins, but at 250L , even the full price skins are bargains.

These shoes are some of the coolest most fun shoes I have seen in SL. They are called Akita Clogs and they are by PixelFashion. The texture on them is fantastic. The colour palette it comes in it bright and sassy. Those toes are some of the best toes I have ever seen in SL. The shoes are also great because every colour comes colour change in to several shades of that colour. Black goes from Black to White…Both the strap at the top and the bottom plastic bit is texture change to different colours.  In the coloured versions like Red, the plastic bottom part can be Black, White or Red. The shoes come in the Black/White shown here, Pink, Red, Brown, Blue and Green.

I was going to complain about the nails not working unless you had their prim nails, but I guess that was just SL being a bugger that day. Fortunately before I wrote this and made a fool of myself, I tried the hud again and the nail polish option worked just perfectly.  *starts to chant to myself…I love SL..I love SL…I love SL* They have some really pretty colours of nails too. The black would have been awesome to use with this outfit if SL had co-operated! They even give you the option of having 4 different levels of gloss on the nail polish.  Having options is never a bad thing.  They do have a feature where if you have their nails and you change the colour on the nails or the toes, both will change at once.  Nice to not have to fiddle around with two huds.  Great thinking!

Now you might notice that my leg and my shoe don’t match colour much at all. There is two reasons for this.

1 – My leg was completely covered by the pant prim, so the closest bare skin was my hands, and the match was close enough to look good with that amount of distance.

2 – There is no RGB colour input option to match.  You have to pick the set colour that is closest to your skin tone and then they have some big patches of skin tone…your current colour in the middle, on either side +5 and +20,  -5 and -20 of Red, Green, Blue and White.  If you are a good visual person and can look at a colour and go, well, I need a bit less blue and a bit more green and red and then just darken this up a bit, it will be perfect, then this system will work for you. I know a lot of my friends can use a system like this and get a colour in a minute.

I’m not that sort of person. For me this sort of system is like a chinese torture puzzle. I’m Ok if I have the basic colour set and I need to adjust it by one colour box.  That I can do. Drop more then one colour box in to the mix, and I’m clicking away at random hoping something somewhere will somehow work.

My only complaint about this shoe is that there is no way to add the RBG numbers is so that no matter how your mind works, you can match the colours easily and quickly. The good news is that I can match them…eventually…but an hour every time I put them on is a high price to pay. There is the option to save the colour, which would be good if I ever wore the same skin twice.  Yeah, I laughed at that idea too.

Now..what is the price for these sexy, cool, fashionable, well made, well crafted, wonders you may ask…Well, I answer…inexpensive if you buy 1 pair, dirt cheap if you buy them all! They are 380 a pair, or currently the fatpack is on sale for 750L for all 6 pairs. Get the 6 pairs…get that, you won’t regret it!

The poses used were from Exposeur, their new pose pack for Top Model, the All Stars – Intro. That’s not playing up here in Canada yet, I can hardly wait. It’s on sale for 50L, so you can’t beat that price, get it before it goes up!

Front Pose – Bre

Side – Dominique

Necklace Close Ups – Camille

Face – Alexandra

Feet – Angelea

Comments
  1. […] Eye Lashes – LeLutka – Curl – Touch Me – https://tapika.wordpress.com/2011/09/02/study-in-gray/ […]

Leave a Reply

